Join Us for Streaming Forum Connect on 5 October

Article Featured Image

Once again, we couldn't gather in London this year for Streaming Forum, but we're going to keep those crucial conversations moving forward with another Streaming Forum Connect virtual event next Tuesday, 5 October. There's still plenty of time to register for one or all of our three panel discussions, each focusing on a key component of the streaming video ecosystem.

We'll kick things off at 13.00 BST/14.00 CET (that's 8 a.m. EDT for those who want to tune in from the U.S.0 with a discussion called "Low Latency, Ultra-Low Latency, and You." If you're streaming live, you're thinking about low latency. But how low do you need to go? There's no one-size-fits-all answer, but nearly every live stream - sports, esports, gaming, auctions, and more - can benefit from lower latency. What technical and business factors should you consider in order to get your latency where you need it to be? And what strategic decisions and technology choices can you make to get there? Jason Thibeault, executive director of the Streaming Video Alliance, will moderate the discussion, which will feature Martin Bergström, head of distribution and transmission for NENT Sport Nordic at Nordic Entertainment Group, and Oliver Lietz, CEO of nanocosmos, which has been at the forefront of ultra-low latency technology.

At 14.30 BST/15.30 CET (9:30 a.m. EDT), we'll look at the big picture of "How to Maximise Efficiencies and Minimise Costs in Your OTT Workflow." Now that both established providers and new entrants have their OTT workflows in place, it's time to focus on making those workflows more productive, more efficient, and more cost-effective from glass to glass. Is the cloud—with its lower total cost of ownership, faster response times, quicker time to market, and reduced delivery costs—the answer? Whether you've moved to the cloud, are thinking of making the leap, or need to keep an on-prem or hybrid approach, this panel will help you find the improvements you need to make. Vinay Gupta from ITV and James Hynard from leading solutions provider castLabs will join moderator Magnus Svensson from Eyevinn Technology.

We'll wrap things up with a discussion of "Live Streaming in 2021 and Beyond" at 16.00 BST/17.00 CET (11 a.m. EDT). The last year found most live producers in triage mode, as onsite productions became remote by necessity. Now that audiences and performers are back in venues, and teams and fans are back in stadiums, it's time to work smarter rather than harder, finding efficiencies in remote production workflows without sacrificing the high quality that audiences expect. We'll talk to live streaming producers who've honed their skills in both the field and "at home" to find out how they're doing it today, and where they see live streaming going in the future. I'll have the good fortune to sit down (virtually) with Larry Gale, head of production network for PUSH.live; Ian Nock, longtime industry veteran and founder of Fairmile West Consulting; and Andrew McCargar, project manager for live streaming platform 3Q to talk about all the latest opportunities and challenges facing live streamers of all sizes.

We hope you can join us. Register here.

Streaming Covers
Free
for qualified subscribers
Subscribe Now Current Issue Past Issues
Related Articles

Streaming Forum Connect - Innovations in Sports Streaming

From Formula 1 to UEFA, nothing inspires more passion from viewers than sports. OTT delivery gives leagues, clubs, and athletes unprecedented opportunities to deliver the most immersive, interactive, and innovative experiences possible, beating broadcast at its own game.

Streaming Forum Connect - Live Streaming in the 'New Normal'

Theatres and concert halls have been dark for months, but the hunger for shared cultural experience is stronger than ever. Live streaming has stepped in to fill the void.

Streaming Forum Connect - How to Compete in an Overcrowded OTT Field

As people stayed at home over the last few months, OTT video moved into the spotlight like never before. Global giants like Netflix and Amazon Prime Video, as well as local services, have reported skyrocketing usage, while new entrant Disney+ shook up the market with its launch in March.

Companies and Suppliers Mentioned